Flea Market Flip- Dining Hutch

Let’s just start by taking a look at that header image above.  I LOVE that shade of turquoise!  The rust spots and worn areas add to the texture and character of the piece.  This photo, along with hundreds of “turquoise distressed furniture” pins via Pinterest were the inspiration for today’s edition of flea market flip.

Below is the “before” photo– I bought this dining hutch at an auction for $30.  Such a steal!!  Word to the wise: even if it is the best bargain you have ever come across, be sure you can get the piece home.  I bought this in Illinois, then realized it did not fit in a single vehicle I had access to.  Lucky for me I had a U-Haul of furniture to take back to Ohio, so we threw it in with the rest of the furniture.  My family will never let me live down that great bargain I had to rent a U-Haul for….

hutchtopbeforehutchbottombefore

I wanted this hutch to be a statement piece in our dining room, and it was a great place to bring in some much needed color.  At this point I had researched chalk paint and wax, but the chalk paint was SO expensive, and I did not want to attempt making my own.  Every review I had read on wax options lead me back to the Annie Sloan brand.  Despite it’s high price point, it seemed to be the only brand that truly worked well.  After all my research I decided to compromise– go with a regular paint and splurge on the Annie Sloan wax.

supplies

My vision was a bright turquoise with heavy distressing from sanding and dark wax.  I wanted the hutch to look like it had been sitting outside to weather for years.  My go to paint for the house has been Behr Marquee from Home Depot.  One coat and done seems too good to be true, but it totally works!  I saved so much time by skipping the primer step on this project.

For the base coat I used the Behr Marquee color “Plumage” in an eggshell finish, as I did not want any gloss or shine to interfere with the waxing.

The most expensive part of this project was the wax and brushes.  $40 in wax and each brush was $20.  There are so many brushes out there, but the Madeline brand was cheaper than other options, and felt like a good quality that would last.  For the record, I have used them on 5 or 6 wax projects now and they are still going strong!

hutchbottomfirstcoatFirst step was getting the base coat on.  My picture here looks much more blue than turquoise- forgive my beginner level photo skills.  When I began this project I had no intention to blog or share photos of my work with the world!

hutchtopaddinginsidepanelsWhen I started this project, I knew I wanted another element of color besides the turquoise.  I looked at wallpaper for the back of the hutch but nothing was striking me.  I found this red floral fabric, in the clearance department of course, at JoAnn Fabrics.  To apply, I had my husband cut a thin piece of plywood that fit into the back of the hutch.  I then stretched and stapled fabric to the piece of wood and slid it into place.  It was an extra step, but now if I decide to re-decorate down the road, or come across another great fabric panel, it is fairly easy to swap out.

hutchpanelprewaxpaintThe other detail you will notice is that I sanded down the edges and a few places along the hutch to distress.  Many of the chalk paint and wax tutorials I have read do not sand, but I wanted that element of extra wear.  And now for the final step– waxing!

For the record, I HIGHLY recommend testing out your wax skills on a scrap of wood BEFORE using it on your project.  On my test piece I used the dark wax first, and it stained the paint to a muddled green I did not like.  When I was ready to move on to the hutch, I first applied the clear wax, then a heavy handed dark wax.  Using a soft cotton cloth, I wiped down areas to give it that weathered, worn look.

hutchwaxed

While this photo is much too blue, it gives a good look at the heavy sand and distress I used on the doors.  The other detail I really love is the look of the original hardwear. Typically that is the first thing I replace on a project piece, but these brass handles and knobs had such a classic look, with the perfect amount of aging.

hutchfinished

So here she is- the final “after” photo!  While it may be too heavy on the dark wax and distress for some, I love that it looks as though I pulled it out of an old barn or garden somewhere.  The bottom cabinets are the perfect place to store table decor like runners, placemats, and holiday table settings.  My antique dinnerware didn’t fill half the space I thought it might.  I definitely want to re-arrange the setup inside the hutch, but it will have to wait until I acquire more dishes.

I would love to hear your thoughts, or see photos of your own chalk paint and wax projects. Do you prefer less distress or more?  Are there other wax brands out there you have tried?   I want to hear your experience with chalk paint and/or wax!

 

2 thoughts on “Flea Market Flip- Dining Hutch

  1. Jonita Mitchel says:

    Love the hutch! I think it was worth all your trouble getting it to Ohio! I can’t wait until Sundays to see the next project and blog.

    Like

Leave a Reply

