Half Bath Overhaul

Happy Saturday Friends!

The weather here in Ohio is surprisingly sunny and warm for January.  It has me ready to open up the garage and tackle a few of those half finished projects that are piling up.  My New Year’s resolution was to step back from starting more projects and focus on finishing one project at a time.  How is that going you ask?  Friends…the struggle is REAL!

In an effort to motivate myself to stick to that New Year’s resolution, I am sharing one of the few fully finished rooms in our home, the main floor bathroom.  Below is a look of what we had to work with.halfbathbeforeehalfbathbefore2e

Not bad right?  It was like starting with a blank slate!  The previous owners made nice updates with the brushed nickel accessories and solid wood medicine cabinet.  Unfortunately, those updates did not match our style.  I started by taking out the medicine cabinet, sink, towel bars, and mirror.  Those were all listed and sold on Craigslist within a couple days.

With a little extra cash in hand, it was time to decide what theme of decor to use in the room.  My husband and I love the outdoors and had agreed we wanted a few of the rooms in our home to reflect our passion for hiking, kayaking, and outdoor adventure.bathroomafter4e

My husband brought home this old canoe paddle from his parents garage.  He sanded it down and re-stained.  I painted on stripes and the number 15, signifying the year we got married and purchased our home.

The hand towel is from Pendelton’s National Park Collection.  I purchased two small hand towels from the collection, and they were a total splurge.  Each towel was $20– way more than I have ever spent on towels!  But…I now see why people splurge on nice linens.  These hand towels are so thick and spongy, and they wash up well.

Last detail you see in the above photo are the framed patches.  My husband and I have been collecting patches from every park we visit.  I backed the frames with pages cut from a 1930s nature magazine, then laid the patches on top.

bathroomshelvinge

I replaced the large wood medicine cabinet with an antique locker basket turned vertically. Because we didn’t need to store much in this bathroom, I wanted to keep the wall open as a place to decorate.  I strategically placed the antique first aid kits so that I could add to the collection as I come across them at flea markets.  The canteen is an old boy scout item, and the towel is the second one I purchased from Pendleton.

Now that you have seen the small details, are you ready to see the finished product??

bathroomaftere

I am IN LOVE with this wood grain, wide plank porcelain tile!  It gave the room warmth, and running it horizontally helped make the room feel larger.  The tile came from Home Dept and cost around $300 for tile, grout, and supplies to cover 50 square feet.

The round mirror was a Target clearance item I found for $15.  The lights above add a camp feel without being too rustic.

bathroomafter2e

This photo gives a much better look at the color of the wood look tile.  It ties back nicely to the current tile floor.  Replacing the floor tile is a much bigger project down the road when we have more money…and more tile experience!

Below are before and after photos shown side by side so you can see the difference.

While this wasn’t a big project by any means, it was our first real overhaul of a room, and a great way to break into home renovation.  My husband and father-in-law did the tile work, so I have to give them a big credit for this transformation.

What project is on your list?  Or maybe a better question…what half finished project are you ready to tackle now?  I would love to hear what you are working on.  Please post in comments below!

Leave a Reply

