Pom Poms & Pinot- Pom Pom Wreath Making Tutorial

Happy Saturday West Main Followers!

I apologize for the delay in posts– when I started this blog my goal was to post twice a week.  Whew, I learned quickly that is a lofty goal when I work a full time job that keeps me on the road a large portion of the time.  So for now, one post a week is the goal, and this one missed that by a day due to some much needed crafting time with friends!

As much as I love to craft and create, I have even more fun sharing that passion with others.  Teaching someone to craft or sew and seeing the excitement they have with their finished product is one of the best feelings.  So when I whipped up these pom pom wreaths for my Valentine decor, I knew it was something I wanted to share with my girlfriends.

pompomwreath

If you type in Pom Pom Wreath DIY on Pinterest you will come up with hundreds of photos and tutorials.  I read through a few and then pieced together my own version.  I was so excited with my finished products that I sent photos to my girlfriends and they immediately asked if I could teach them to make one.  Our regular girl’s wine night out turned into a wine and craft night in.  I provided the pom poms, the girls brought wine and snacks, and everyone left with new crafting skills and a great piece of home decor.  It was such a blast!

Want to make your own Pom Pom Wreath?  Below is a supply list you will need for each wreath, as well as a step by step process of how I made my wreath:

Pom Pom Wreath Supplies:

  • 1- 12″ foam wreath
  • 1 skein basic yarn to wrap wreath
  • 1-2 skeins of thick, fluffy yarn in colors of your choice (the thicker the yarn the larger your pom will be)
  • 20 T-pins or straight pins (T-pins seems to hold a little better)
  • Pom Pom makers ( I used these two sizes)

closeuppoms

I chose to make up the pom poms ahead of time, as the process can be time consuming to make enough for a large group.  I also took the extra step of wrapping my yarn into smaller balls instead of using straight off the skein.  This makes wrapping the wreath SO MUCH EASIER!

wreathstartStart by pinning the end of your yarn into the foam wreath.  This keeps it in place as you get started wrapping your wreath.

yarnwrapThis is the tedious part of the project– you want to make sure the yarn stays uniform and hides the green foam.

prepWine, cheese, and conversation with good friends makes this step much more enjoyable!

wrapcompleteThis is what your wreath will look like when wrapping is complete.  Use another straight pin to secure the finished  yarn end on the back side of the wreath.

Now comes the fun part- placing the poms.  I had two wreaths out as inspiration, but I encouraged everyone to put together their own design and color choice.  My favorite part of teaching a new craft is seeing how differently each person interprets the project.

kellijen2Using the T-pins and straight pins, set your pom pom in place, then push the pins through the pom and foam wreath at an angle.  This will secure the pom better, and prevent pin ends from showing on the inside of the wreath.

finishedwreathsA couple of hours of catching up over wine, and wreaths are complete!

Want to host your own Pom Poms & Pinot with your girlfriends?  If you are near the Columbus, Ohio area I am happy to come out and teach!  Contact me in the comments below, or send me an email.

Feeling crafty and inspired from the tutorial?  Send me photos of your finished wreaths, I would love to see them!

Leave a Reply

